About Qatar

Formal Name: State of Qatar


The State of Qatar lies halfway along the West Coast of the Arabian Gulf, east of the Arabian Peninsula between 24 degrees 27 minutes and 26 degrees 10 minutes north – and at 50 degrees 45 minutes to 51 degrees 40 minutes east. Its territory comprises a number of islands including Halul, Al Shat, Shira'wa and others.

Land Area

It is a peninsula that extends northward covering an area of 11,586 sq. km.


Qatar has a desert climate of hot summer and relatively warm winter. In summer, the temperature ranges between 25 and 46 degrees centigrade. Rainfall in winter is minimal and on average does not exceed 75.2 mm per year.

Capital City

Doha is the capital city, the seat of government and the location of the main commercial and financial institutions. Situated halfway along the East Coast of the peninsula, the city is an important cultural and commercial center with a vast commercial seaport and a modern international airport that link the country to the rest of the world. More than half of the population lives in Doha.


The total population of Qatar is 1,699,435 (Based on 2010 Census result). 74% of the population lives in Doha and its suburb, al-Rayyan.

Religion and Language

Islam is the official religion of the state and Shari'a (Islamic law) is the main source of legislation. Arabic is the official language. English is widely spoken.


The official currency is the Qatari Riyal (QR), which is divided into 100 dirhams. The Exchange parity has been set at the fixed rate of US $ = 3.65QR's.

Public Holidays

Pride and Loyalty Day: 18 December in every year.
Eid Al-Fitr: 4 days from 1st to 4th of Shawwal of al-Hijrah.
Eid Al-Adha: 5 days from 10th to 15th of Zilhijjah of al-Hijrah.
Friday and Saturday as a weekend

For more information: Click Here

Qatar Map: Click Here

© 2012 Qatar Cultural & Social Center For Deaf. All rights reserved.
Powered by Media Network